The replacement for Jasprit Bumrah has been announced and India have confirmed their final 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Bumrah 2
Credit @ Getty Images

Mohammad Shami replaced Jasprit Bumrah in the 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. Shami was initially included in the three-man reserve squad but has now been selected for the main squad ahead of the game.

India have been dealt a major blow ahead of the T20 World Cup as Bumrah is sidelined with a back injury. You’ve now chosen Shami’s experience to kick off this weekend’s big event. Although Shami has not played in the T20’s since the last T20 World Championships, he played a crucial role in the Gujarat Titans’ inaugural victory in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He is the sixth-highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 20 wickets in 16 games and an economy of eight.

Credit @ Getty Images

India have called up two more players – Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur – into the reserves alongside Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Bishnoi. The three players have flown to Australia and joined the squad.

India’s T20 World Cup campaign begins with a much-anticipated clash with Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday, October 23. India will play Pakistan, Bangladesh and South Africa in Group 2 of the Super 12. Two other teams will join them in the first round, which begins on October 16.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Shami.
Reserves: Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Comment